Subscribe to the Zelda Newsletter!

Join for the latest info about Zelda Magazine. We'll let you know when new issues are available and when we are sponsoring new events!


  • No categories

Recent Posts

Agreements of International Humanitarian Law

Agreements of International Humanitarian Law: A Guide for Understanding and Implementation

International Humanitarian Law (IHL), also known as the Law of War or the Law of Armed Conflict, is a set of laws that aim to protect individuals who are not or are no longer participating in hostilities and to limit the effects of armed conflict. These laws are applicable to both international and non-international armed conflicts and are based on agreements that have been ratified by many states. This article will provide an overview of the key agreements of IHL and their importance in protecting human rights during armed conflicts.

The Geneva Conventions

The Geneva Conventions are a set of four treaties that were first signed in 1949 and have since been ratified by 196 states. The conventions define the rights and protections that must be afforded to wounded or sick military personnel, prisoners of war, and civilians during armed conflict. They also set out rules for the conduct of hostilities, including the prohibition of targeting civilians, using weapons that cause unnecessary suffering, and conducting attacks that do not distinguish between combatants and non-combatants.

The Additional Protocols

In 1977, two additional protocols were added to the Geneva Conventions to address the changing nature of armed conflict. Protocol I extends the protections of the conventions to individuals who are not taking part in the hostilities but are in the vicinity of military operations. This includes civilians and civilian objects, such as hospitals and schools. Protocol II extends the protections to individuals involved in non-international armed conflicts, such as civil wars and rebellions.

The Hague Conventions

The Hague Conventions are a set of international treaties that were first signed in 1899 and updated in 1907. They cover a range of issues related to the conduct of hostilities and the protection of civilians and prisoners of war. The conventions prohibit the use of certain weapons, such as poison gas, and set out rules for the treatment of prisoners of war. They also establish a framework for the protection of cultural property during armed conflict.

The Rome Statute

The Rome Statute is the treaty that established the International Criminal Court (ICC), which is responsible for prosecuting individuals for war crimes, crimes against humanity, and genocide. The statute defines these crimes and provides guidelines for their prosecution. It also establishes the principle of complementarity, which means that the ICC can only prosecute individuals if their own country is unwilling or unable to do so.

Implementation and Enforcement

International humanitarian law is only effective if it is implemented and enforced. States that have ratified the various agreements of IHL are responsible for incorporating them into their national legal frameworks and ensuring that they are followed during armed conflict. The ICRC (International Committee of the Red Cross) is also responsible for monitoring compliance with IHL and providing assistance to victims of armed conflict.


The agreements of international humanitarian law provide crucial protections for individuals during armed conflict. They establish rules for the conduct of hostilities, protect civilians and prisoners of war, and provide a mechanism for prosecuting war crimes and other atrocities. It is important for states to ratify these agreements, incorporate them into their national legal frameworks, and ensure that they are enforced during times of armed conflict. By doing so, we can help create a more humane world even in times of conflict and strife.

Comments are closed.